• Roald Dahl, George's Marvellous Medicine # Matilda

    Roald Dahl, George's Marvellous Medicine # MatildaRoald Dahl, George's Marvellous Medicine # Matilda

     

    George's Marvellous Medicine (La Potion magique de Georges Bouillon)

    George's Grandma is a grizzly, grumpy, selfish old woman with pale brown teeth and a small puckered up mouth like a dog's bottom. Four times a day she takes a large spoonful of medicine, but it doesn't seem to do her any good. She's always just as poisonous after she's taken it as she was before. When George is left to look after her one morning, it's just the chance he needs...


    Matilda (Matilda)

    One of Roald Dahl's most famous children's books. Matilda is a brilliant and sensitive child, but her parents think of her only as a nuisance. Even before she is five years old, she has read Dickens and Hemingway and still her parents think of her as a pest. So she decides to get back at them. Her platinum-haired mother and car salesman father are no match for her sharp genius, and neither is the cruel headmistress Miss Trunchbull. And then the child prodigy discovers she has an extraordinary psychic power that can save her school and especially the lovely kindergarten teacher, Miss Honey.


    Critique :
    C'est L'auteur que je recommanderais pour commencer à lire en anglais. Peu importe l'âge, Roald Dahl est intergénérationnel par sa qualité d'écriture et son humour. Quand je prends un de ses romans je suis sûr que je vais aimer. C'est rassurant de pouvoir piocher parmi sa bibliographie en sachant qu'on va passer un bon moment. (Charlie et le grand ascenseur de verre mis à part évidemment...)

    Matilda est un un de ses bestseller et franchement je comprends mieux pourquoi. Je n'avais pas vu l'adaptation cinématographique et donc je ne connaissais pas l'histoire. Elle est absolument géniale ! J'ai adoré les personnages. Matilda et Miss Honey sont gentilles et touchantes. On a envie de se battre pour elle pour qu'elles aient enfin la vie qu'elles méritent.

    On retrouve également dans ces deux livres la petite touche de folie que j'apprécie tant chez cet auteur. Il y a toujours un moment dans ses récits où tout bascule et passe dans une autre dimension, magique et mystérieuse.

    Encore une fois, un régal !

    B.


  • Commentaires

    Aucun commentaire pour le moment



    Ajouter un commentaire

    Nom / Pseudo :

    E-mail (facultatif) :

    Site Web (facultatif) :

    Commentaire :